top of page

Slow Down Mumma...


Today, I sit at my kitchen table, which is covered in playdough, textas, worksheets, cut up fruit in containers and my laptop and decaf coffee at hand.

My days are now filled with questions about math, spelling and prefixes. “Mum” seems to be the most used word in the kid’s vocabularies and “I’m hungry” is the most used sentence.


A lot of the day I am distracted, overwhelmed and busy. I wake up in a fog each morning, stumbling through the day till I lay my head down to sleep. All the clutter drowns out Gods voice and takes up the time I always tell myself I will put aside for Him.

This leads me to feeling guilty, discontent, discouraged and I still find myself filling the pauses in my day with deep sighs, more clutter and the feeling that if I pause for too long, I will fall behind, I will miss or forget something. Maybe you feel this too?


I’m very conscious of the fact, that if Satan cannot turn you from God, he will just make you busy, and without even realising it, the one missed bible study, or the one missed family worship story becomes a weeks’ worth.

I have felt this pressing on my heart this last week. Jesus is asking us, to simply come to Him.


I’m still learning how, but I need to put time aside everyday to retreat from routine and busyness and to seek solitude and time alone with Jesus and His word. I need to slow my pace, savour scripture and draw close to God. I need to MAKE time with Him, not try and FIND the time with Him – because it will never be found.


Beautiful Mumma’s, and daughters of God, when you read this did you say, “me too”?

Slow down. Prioritize your relationship with Him. Make the time. If you're feeling tired, discontent or overwhelmed, Jesus is asking you “Come to me and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28)


Be blessed.


Mary xx





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page